September to December 2017 Observatory Use

If any CAS members wish to use the Observatory they should contact the Observatory Manager Alan Stephens by email at least four days prior to the proposed date of usage at the following address.

Observatory.Manager@cardiff-astronomical-society.co.uk.

The Observatory Manager will then complete the booking form and update the website booking form.

  • On or before the day of the observing session, Dyffryn Gardens must be informed and contacted before 5.00 pm on the day of observing Tel No 029 2059 3328:
  • The attendance time of the observing session must be given and you should ask if the Security Guard could be informed of the time of the observing session.
  • The front gate will then be left open prior to this time and one can proceed to the observatory.
  • The keys for the observatory will be with the Security Guard who usually resides in the Cory Centre opposite the observatory.
Day Date Observing Session Members Attending Observatory Requried
        
Thu 21-Sep      
Fri 22-Sep   Observing Session and Star Party Yes
Sat 23-Sep Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 24-Sep      
Mon 25-Sep      
Tue 26-Sep Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 27-Sep      
Thu 28-Sep      
Fri 29-Sep      
Sat 30-Sep Maintenance if required Various Members Yes
Sun 01-Oct      
Mon 02-Oct      
Tue 03-Oct Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 04-Oct      
Thu 05-Oct      
Fri 06-Oct      
Sat 07-Oct Maintenance if required Various Members Yes
Sun 08-Oct      
Mon 09-Oct      
Tue 10-Oct Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 11-Oct      
Thu 12-Oct      
Fri 13-Oct      
Sat 14-Oct Maintenance if required Various Members Yes
Sun 15-Oct      
Mon 16-Oct      
Tue 17-Oct Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 18-Oct      
Thu 19-Oct      
Fri 20-Oct   Observing Session  
Sat 21-Oct Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 22-Oct      
Mon 23-Oct      
Tue 24-Oct Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 25-Oct      
Thu 26-Oct      
Fri 27-Oct      
Sat 28-Oct CAS STAR GAZING EVENT Yes
Sun 29-Oct      
Mon 30-Oct      
Tue 31-Oct Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 01-Nov      
Thu 02-Nov      
Fri 03-Nov      
Sat 04-Nov Maintenance if required Various Members Yes
Sun 05-Nov      
Mon 06-Nov      
Tue 07-Nov Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan TECHNIQUEST Yes
Wed 08-Nov   TECHNIQUEST  
Thu 09-Nov      
Fri 10-Nov      
Sat 11-Nov Maintenance if required Various Members Yes
Sun 12-Nov      
Mon 13-Nov      
Tue 14-Nov Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 15-Nov      
Thu 16-Nov      
Fri 17-Nov   Observing Session  
Sat 18-Nov Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 19-Nov      
Mon 20-Nov      
Tue 21-Nov Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 22-Nov      
Thu 23-Nov      
Fri 24-Nov   Observing Session and Star Party  
Sat 25-Nov Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 26-Nov      
Mon 27-Nov      
Tue 28-Nov Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan TECHNIQUEST Yes
Wed 29-Nov   TECHNIQUEST  
Thu 30-Nov      
Fri 01-Dec      
Sat 02-Dec Maintenance if required   Yes
Sun 03-Dec      
Mon 04-Dec      
Tue 05-Dec Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 06-Dec      
Thu 07-Dec      
Fri 08-Dec      
Sat 09-Dec Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 10-Dec      
Mon 11-Dec      
Tue 12-Dec Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 13-Dec      
Thu 14-Dec      
Fri 15-Dec   Observing Session  
Sat 16-Dec Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 17-Dec      
Mon 18-Dec      
Tue 19-Dec Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 20-Dec      
Thu 21-Dec      
Fri 22-Dec   Observing Session Yes
Sat 23-Dec Maintenance if required Observing Session Yes
Sun 24-Dec      
Mon 25-Dec      
Tue 26-Dec Astrophotography Group Bob Moore, Bob Biss, Feras, Keith, Ray, Robert, Stephen, Steve, Alan Yes
Wed 27-Dec      
Thu 28-Dec      
Fri 29-Dec      
Sat 30-Dec      
Sun 31-Dec     
In Association with Amazon.co.uk